Colonial Law Group – Consumer Complaint – April 27, 2018

By on April 27, 2018
Consumer Complaint Submission

Consumer Statement:

In the fall of 2018, I acquired the assistance of Colonial Law Group to help settle my debt. At that time like most debt settlement companies I was informed that they would help settle my debt for a fraction of the cost as well as help to remove the negative items from my credit report.

In the past year and a half, I have been making payments to Colonial Law Group in amounts no less than $350 a month. Throughout this time, I was under the assumption that in the background they had been working on settlements and paying creditors off. Also throughout this time, I requested to have additional accounts added to my account to be settled. I was fully aware that these requests would increase my total debt balance with Colonial. Therefore, I increased my payment amount to make up for this. I was never advised by Colonial that I needed to do so nor was I given an updated amount to what the increase in fees would be by adding these additional accounts.

On 9/1/2017 a payment was sent to Colonial in the amount of $1,180.10. This amount was need to settle an account, Lift Credit totaling $1,458.50. This should of been a red flag however again I figured that there was a low balance in my account because they had used the funds from my monthly payments to settle other accounts. On 10/31/2017 an additional payment of $1,000 was sent to give the company more money for negotiating settlements. All in all since August 2016, I sent Colonial a total of $5,961.38. A total of $1,558.50 has been used to settle my debts. The remaining $4,402.88 has been used to pay retainer fees, service fees, maintenance fees and account surcharges.

On 4/20/2017, I received a call from one of my creditors. I was informed that a judgement would be placed against me. I informed the creditor as instructed by Colonial to let them know I was working with them. I also informed the creditor of who to speak with directly about my account. Immediately, I Colonial and asked them the status of this account since I had previously sent them correspondence regarding this creditor. On 4/25/2017, I was ed by Colonial stating that they had negotiated a settlement with the creditor in the amount of $1,055.66 which had to be paid in a lump sum immediately. This was when I began looking into my account history with Colonial. Ironically the same day the creditor ed me again because they had not received any updates. I explained what was going on with Colonial to the creditor and how they were ripping me off in fees. The creditor also stated that nowhere on my case was there notes that they had been ed. As a result the creditor negotiated with me that if I made payments they would not charge any fee on top of the balance and could settle the account for less than what Colonial presented. The creditor advised me to stop working with Colonial because in all honestly with the amount they had charged me in fees the account could have already been paid in full. As of 4/26/2017, my account with Colonial has a balance of $12.32 and no additional accounts are being paid or worked on because there are no funds to do so.

READ  Colonial Law Group Client Agreement Reviewed - My Readers Are Awesome

Ultimately, I would have been able to negotiate my debt directly with the creditors and would have been able to settle for lesser amount as I did with the most recent creditor that ed me.

Finally, upon research I discovered that the account servicing company that Colonial Group uses, Global Client Solutions, had been involved in a lawsuit back in 8/2014 for similar practices. I feel that if Colonial Group would have begun working with the creditor upon receiving the accounts my account balances would have not increased. Every time the account was sold to a 3rd party creditor the fees increased. Also I would have not been served judgement.

Consumer Action Taken:

I ed the company multiple times. I was unable to speak to anyone in upper management, therefore I was forced to speak with, Nikki La, the Operations Manager. During our phone conversation, Nikki went into detail how a contract is in place and that no refund will be given. I expressed how by paying $4,250.56 in fees out of the $5,821.38 I paid to them was ridiculous. I felt a fair resolution would be to have either my service fees or maintenance fees refunded.

Nikki rebutted by stating that along the process that anyone with common sense would have asked questions to where about their money was going. I told Nikki at that point I was offended as she made the claim that I have no common sense. I told her that this conversation was over. I wanted a list of all my creditors including balance, information and their current status.

Nikki said I can get you that information but I am very busy. She also stated that she would look into giving me a refund but refunds are based on three parts. She also stated that she would relay this information to Alex who is the Compliance Officer and get back to me by the end of the day. Needless to say, I did not receive a phone from Nikki and when I emailed her she stated that he hand my file over to Alex and he would be in with me. I still have not heard back from anyone at Colonial.

READ  Reader Expresses Concern About My Enrollment Ctr and Colonial Law Group

Date This Problem Happened: April 23, 2018

State You Live in: Utah

Race/Ethnicity: Other

Age Range: 21-35

Total Amount of Fee Paid: $4250.56

Company Name: Colonial Law Group

Company Address:

One Oxford Center
301 Grant Street, Suite 4300
Pittsburgh, PA 15218

Company Telephone Number: 866-839-0065

Website of Company: coloniallawgroup.com


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

Last step, fill out the information below or call us for Priority Assistance.

What problems are you having with your report?

Your first name is required. Your first name is required to be at least 2 characters. Your first name cannot be longer than 50 characters.
Your last name is required. Your last name is required to be at least 2 characters. Your last name cannot be longer than 50 characters.
Your email is required.
Your phone is required. Your 10 digit phone number is required.
Your state is required.
Your age is required. Your age must be greater than 18. Your age must be less than 100.

By clicking on the "Contact Me" button above, you consent, acknowledge, and agree to the following: Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy and to receive electronic communications. We take your privacy seriously. That you are providing express "written" consent for Debt.com or appropriate service provider(s) to call you (including through automated means; e.g. autodialing, text and pre-recorded messaging) via telephone, mobile device (including SMS and MMS - charges may apply), even if your telephone number is currently listed on any internal, corporate, state or federal Do-Not-Call list. Consent is not required as a condition to utilize Debt.com services and you are under no obligation to purchase anything.

By clicking on the “Contact me” button above, you consent, acknowledge, and agree to the following: (1)That you are providing express “written” consent for Lexington Law Firm, Debt.com or appropriate service provider(s) to call you (including through automated means; e.g. autodialing, text and pre-recorded messaging) via telephone, mobile device (including SMS and MMS – charges may apply), or dialed manually, at my residential or cellular number, even if your telephone number is currently listed on any internal, corporate, state or federal Do-Not-Call list; and (2)Lexington Law’s and and Debt.com’s Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. Consent is not required as a condition to utilize Lexington Law or Debt.com services and you are under no obligation to purchase anything.

About Consumer

This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.

One Comment

  1. Consumer

    April 27, 2018 at 1:50 pm

    Colonial Law Group complaint posted.

Share a Comment / Leave a Reply

займ под залог недвижимости

депозит

полив
%d bloggers like this: